Databases starting with A
A Literary History of Medicine by the Syrian physician Ibn Abī Uṣaybi'ah (d. 1270) is the earliest comprehensive history of medicine. It contains biographies of over 432 physicians, ranging from the ancient Greeks to the author's contemporaries, describing their training and practice, often as court physicians, and listing their medical works; all this interlaced with poems and anecdotes. These volumes present the first complete and annotated translation along with a new edition of the Arabic text showing the stages in which the author composed the work. Introductory essays provide important background. The reader will find on these pages an Islamic society that worked closely with Christians and Jews, deeply committed to advancing knowledge and applying it to health and well-being.
A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Tufts Archival Research Center (TARC) have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
A database of medieval abbreviations to assist in deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts.
Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. 1971-. 520 Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. A complete database comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
Local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides information not typically found in the national press sources.
Contains content from more than 3,600 business and management publications worldwide, covering advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Provides full text articles for over 2,000 titles. Also provides access to information on more than 60,000 companies as well as executive profiles, reports on market conditions, and in-depth case studies of global business trends. Coverage starts from 1971 forward.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry provides information about companies, products, and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Specific industries covered include food & drink, pharmacy, telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, and petrochemicals.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Academic Video Online delivers almost 70,000 video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more; including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
An online resource of world-renowned engineering content to support all levels of scientific and technical research. Please LOG OUT when you are finished using this resource.
An online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools such as Diagnosaurus ®, a comprehensive search platform,and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Some subjects contained are OB/GYN, psychiatry, nephrology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, dermatology and many others.
AccessMedicine's Case Files Collection features basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books (such as anatomy, pharmacology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery), and the personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen realistic patient cases.
Online resource for physical therapy students, educators, and practicing professionals. Features content and images from leading McGraw-Hill textbooks; drug database; curricular tools; review questions and answers; and multimedia study aids, including interactive program entitled: Anatomy & physiology revealed.
A collection of scholarly e-books in the Humanities. Strongest in history, the collection also includes works in Art History, Folklore, Literature, Musicology, Philosophy, and Religion.
A resource for bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full text for ACM periodicals (1985-) and proceedings (1991-).
Basic research journals in the field of chemistry, also includes some technoeconomic titles such as Chemical and Engineering News.
The ACS Symposium Series contains peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.
A collection of documents examining the lives of saints.
This collection, which includes the Aerospace Database, provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of advanced technology literature from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Topics covered include aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer science and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications.
This collection of journals provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage in the fields on advanced technologies & aerospace spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
This collection provides access to documents covering Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and existence as an independent state.
This collection presents the complete files of the Political Warfare Executive (PWE) kept at the U.K. National Archives as FO 898 from its instigation to closure in 1946, along with the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee Breaking the German Will to Resist.
The American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog) includes the entire print version, as well as new content and updates for all previous records. Also included are records for the Institutes Top Ten Films for the years 2000 to 2010.
Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.
This freely available resource indexes the periodical literature of Africa with a focus on the social sciences. The Africana Periodical Literature database now includes citations from the Nairobi Office of the Library of Congress Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011). Where possible links to the full-text of the article have been included. While the priority has been to index the scholarly literature of Africa, selected NGO reports are also indexed.
African American history | 1800-2000 CE | Pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and oral histories.
Part of the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 allows you to search almost 300 African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
African-American Newspapers ultimately will contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins of organizations, annual reports, and other genres.
Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers covering issues and events between 1800 and 1922.
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.
Twelve thousand works from the Library Company of Philadelphias renowned Afro-Americana Collection.
History of migration and travel | 1420 - 1920 CE | Manuscripts, documents, maps, and images | European exploration.
Materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues.
Covers the agriculture literature and related fields published in books, technical reports, journals, theses, patents, software, and audio-visual materials.
This database includes the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more
ProQuest Agriculture Journals contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. It covers a wide range of agriculture-related topics, such as animal and veterinary sciences, plant sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, forestry farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and food and human nutrition. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation, and Plant Physiology.
Provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Society of Civil Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers International, International Society for Optical Engineering, and other science and engineering societies. Covers physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, materials science, mathematics and associated disciplines.
Focus is on indexing the literature pertaining to algae, fungi, protozoa, lichens; covers reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection/immunity.
Contains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.
The intent of this bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing. This bibliography is produced from MEDLINE database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Altweb, the Alternatives to Animal Testing Web Site, was created to serve as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources on the Internet and beyond.
This resource includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on aluminium/aluminum production processes, products, applications and business developments.
Through AM Explorer, you can search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th–21st centuries, including a wealth of new content added every year. Resources span the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives.
Access to complete collection of 494 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Plays.
American history | 1939-1945 CE | Oral histories and personal accounts.
Includes Early American Newspapers series 1 through 12, 1690-1922, and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. Series 1 (1690 - 1876) provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies. Series 2 (1758 - 1900) focuses on the 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. Series 3 (1829 - 1922) focuses on the 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including Civil War, Reconstruction, the Progressive Era and beyond. Series 4 (1756-1922); Series 5 (1777-1922); Series 6 (1741-1922); Series 7 (1773-1922); Series 8 (1844-1922); Series 9 (1832-1922); Series 10 (1730-1900); Series 11 (1803-1899); Series 12 (1821-1900).
Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.
Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Full-text searching of records from the ACLU from before its founding in 1920 through the 20th century. Covers topics such as race, identity, gender rights, workers rights, popular protest, the role of government, and more.
American Drama, 1714-1915 contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century. It provides a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy. Plays are also cross-searchable according to a range of criteria, including genre, date and place of first performance and the nationality and ethnicity of the author.
The American Enterprise Institute is a public policy think tank. The American Enterprise Institute database brings AEI's collection of scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Institute in HeinOnline's fully-searchable image-based format.Unique to this collection is the ability to search by Policy Area, a subject identifier assigned by AEI to each of their publications that organizes their works into the following areas: economics, foreign and defense policy, society and culture, health care, politics and public opinion, poverty studies, and education.
Access to 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses, the American Community Survey, and the 1997 Economic Census.
American history | 1493-1945 CE | Correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps.
Native American history | 1500-1998 CE | Manuscripts, maps, atlases, legal documents, diaries, artwork, photographs, and newspapers.
Native American history | 1828-2016 CE | Newspapers.
The American National Biography Online has biographical information on over 17,000 notable Americans from colonial times to the present.
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial period to the early 20th century.
Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
American history | 1718-1968 CE | Manuscripts, rare books, pamphlets, periodicals, broadsides, ephemera, maps and illustrative material.
A searchable database of the American Museum of Natural History's digitized archival photographic images, art, ephemera, and Rare Book Collection illustrations.
Analytical Abstracts (also known as Analytical WebBase) is a current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. Search the worldwide analytical literature from 1980 until the latest update.
This 3D model of human anatomy by Anatomy.TV includes sections for the head and neck, thorax and abdomen, spine and joints, functional anatomy as well as dentistry and dental hygiene. Users may drill down through layers of musculature, neurovascular supply to the skeleton, each with accompanying text focused on the cursor. Its Anatomy Trains segment presents a unique 'longitudinal' view of myofascial anatomy.
Provides access to historical documents and photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. The Library Edition of Ancestry.com has fewer personalized functions and options than the versions available to private subscribers.
Indexes papers in animal behavior from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology and applied ethology.
The FDA Approved Animal Drug Products (aka Green Book), is updated monthly by FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine. The Generic Animal Drug and Patent Restoration act requires that each sponsor of an approved animal drug must submit to the FDA certain information regarding patents held for the animal drug or its method of use. The Act requires that this information, as well as a list of all animal drug products approved for safety and effectiveness, be made available to the public. This list must be updated monthly under the provisions of the Act.
Database with searching capabilities of animal taxonomic names with access to old zoological literature including all zoological taxa described between 1757 and 1764. Links to the digital editions of taxonomic literature including various editions of Linnæus. The project has various collaborators that may add information to the database. Service is provided by the Zoological Institute of the University of Göttingen, Germany.
Search full text of Annual Reviews covering the biomedical, physical and social sciences, and economics.
This database contains a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971.
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It covers over 2,500 journals and begins coverage in the late 19th century.
A service developed by the American Anthropological Association containing a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003, as well as current issues of eleven critical peer-reviewed publications.
A fully searchable version of the Associated Press Stylebook, including an A-Z guide to usage, spelling, and a pronunciation guide with audio files.
African history | 1948-1980 CE | British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
This database has comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.
The focus is on basic and applied research on aquatic organisms with particular attention to fisheries.
Policy resources for managing all aspects of oceanography: chemical, geological and biological.
This database is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine pollution problems, including biologists, oceanographers, limnologists, environmental engineers and scientists, industrial engineers, waste managers, corporate regulatory affairs managers and government officials.
This specialized database specifically selects its widely dispersed aquaculture-related information by focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species. With the extensive information resources of the international ASFA partnership behind it, ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts provides specific, unparalleled coverage of the planned management of aquatic organisms.
ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts is the one database that assembles the findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.
Provides access to abstracts and periodicals in aquatic science in full-text and image formats.
Information about primary source materials from U.S. manuscript repositories, with detailed indexes of manuscript and other special collections.
A database of archival collection descriptions: historical documents, personal papers, etc. held in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.
Full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period CE 400-1200. It contains more than 400 Latin works spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal texts, charters, inscriptions, etc.
This collection enables students, educators, and researchers to thoroughly explore and make new connections in subjects such as LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more. This unique fully-searchable collection brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
AREAER Online provides direct access to the exchange rate and trade regimes data for all members of the International Monetary Fund that was used to create the yearly reports since 1999. The data can be searched across years, countries, and specific categories.
This database contains texts in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. Other corpora complete the database, whether editions that have already been published, or ones in preparation or unpublished, to produce the finished Aristoteles Latinus. This electronic edition provides an integrated database of all the medieval translations of Aristotle's work. The electronic database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artists interviews and other commentary, and much more.
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Database.
This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards.
A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.
Image study website of the Tufts Department of Art & Art History.
Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles and book reviews in the arts and humanities. Part of Web of Science.
Arts & Humanities Database includes scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
The Arts Premium Collection encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles. Subject areas include: Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. Coverage: 1864 - current.
ARTstor is an image database of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, and archaeological and anthropological objects--with associated catalog data--from many major collections. Users are able to register themselves via the tools in the ARTstor Library. Faculty who want the higher level of access that allows them to create folders to share Image Groups with students or colleagues need to upgrade their user accounts by selecting Instructor Privileges Manager from the Tools toolbar menu. When registering for Instructor Privileges, users will be prompted to obtain the required authorization code and password, available from the Tisch reference desk at 617-627-3460.
Full text of all American Society of Civil Engineers journals, ebooks, standards, and conference proceedings, offering in-depth sources on civil and environmental engineering topics.
This database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.
This archive will enable students and scholars to examine a selection of records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries during the nineteenth century. Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included, as missionaries usually provided some of the earliest contact in various Asian locales with Western ideals.
Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. The works explore a wide variety of cinematic styles and techniques relevant to the study of film, literature, and the visual and performing arts.
Full text of all American Society of Mechanical Engineers journals plus Applied Mechanics Reviews from 1990 forward. Also included are selected ASME titles from 1998, plus all published books from 2006 to the present including all 2010 print publications. You must click the Search eBooks box to include e-book content in your search.
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information.
Astute doctor consists of 6 CME-accredited interactive online courses to help licensed physicians, nurse practitioners, physician’s assistants, residents in training, and medical school students acquire practical skills to improve how they communicate with their patients. The courses are designed to increase a physician's ability to conduct patient-centered interactions and use empathy-based techniques to improve patient health outcomes. First time users must create an account from on campus or through a VPN. To create an account and login select Astute Doctor from the blue bar at the top of the page and follow the directions.
The American Theological Association's Religion Database covers journals, multi-author books, and book reviews in Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This is the online edition of Religion Index One and Two, and Index to Book Reviews in Religion.
Consists of three sections: Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) Lecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) Research Library providing an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides. Video requires Real Player.
This database is a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 2 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
Veterinary clinical studies conducted to investigate novel therapies or to collect samples or information to gain further understanding of a disease provide the best scientific evidence to guide the clinical care of animals, and oftentimes, people too. Search for studies relevant to a particular condition, provide health data or a sample from a normal animal.
Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.
Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. Owned, operated and funded by Cornell University.