Databases starting with E
E
This Heinonline resource contains links to full texts on United States and English case law. Includes searchable databases
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 16th and 17th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.
An online collection reproducing every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819 - the complete printed, non-serial source materials of American culture for the 17th and 18th centuries. Covers titles in the Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker bibliographies.
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 16th and 17th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century. From the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century. From the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
An expanding source of letters, diaries and other accounts of early encounters between Europeans and Native Americans from the mid-1600s through the mid 1800s. This resource is fully indexed and can be searched in a wide variety of ways, and should be of interest to historians, anthropologists and environmental scientists.
Over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), comprising all known English language books from the beginning of printing to 1700.
British history, social history | 1500-1700 CE | legal documents, correspondence, and administrative records.
The Earth, atmospheric & aquatic science database includes the renowned Aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic abstracts, and Meteorological & geoastrophysical abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth's air, land, and water environments.
Provides access to abstracts and periodicals in atmospheric science in full-text and image formats.
Provides comprehensive authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation; currently comprised of approximately 114,000 records (full citations and abstracts) from 1971 forward, plus several hundred earlier classic papers and reports.
Asian history, colonialism | 1599-1947 CE | Royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings, and reports of expeditions.
This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.
A definitive resource for electronic information in the evidence based medicine (EBM) movement that combines 7 of the most trusted EBM resources (Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database) into a single, fully-searchable database.
This collection consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group. Ovid MEDLINE links to article reviews in this file from its citations for the reviewed articles.
This database is the essence of current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction. Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
This database is published by the American Economic Association and provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
Eleven major editions, from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-1866, 24 separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.
The Education Collection provides access to ERIC, the leading index for education research, in combination with the full-text Education Database. Together they provide abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading education journals.
ProQuest Education Database provides access to over 900 top educational publications, more than 600 in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Education in Video is a streaming video collection of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, classic works on child development, and footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Search and browse by grade level, subject, topic, educational theory, and other criteria. Users can search for specific terms within the video transcripts, and create clips and individual play-lists of videos.
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.
English literature, drama | 1737-1824 CE | Larpent Collection of Plays, London Stage Database, Biographical Dictionary Database.
Social history, intellectual history | 1685-1835 CE | Periodicals.
EIU Viewpoint provides information for organizations to operate effectively and plan for the future. Assess global dynamics that could impact business with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment.
The EAI collection spans the mid-1960s to the present, and is a comprehensive video art collection. The works in the collection range from seminal videos by pioneering figures to new digital works by emerging artists.
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, equipment and instrumentation, power systems and electrical engineering.
Embase contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and its especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
The Emerging sources citation index on Web of science complements the Science citation index expanded, Social sciences citation index, and Arts & Humanities citation index by providing earlier visibility for sources under evaluation. ESCI enables discovery of publications of regional importance and in emerging research fields.
EMIS Professional focuses on news, data, intelligence, and company and industry information for emerging markets around the world. Includes proprietary M&A information, peer analysis, credit analytics, benchmark indicators, and trend comparisons.
Colonialism | 1482-2003 CE | Diaries, correspondence, government papers, travel writing, and maps.
This website provides access to the following editions of the Encyclopaedia of Islam: Encyclopaedia of Islam First Edition, Encyclopaedia of Islam Second Edition, Glossary and Index of Terms, Encyclopaedia of Islam Three, Encyclopedie de l'Islam, and Historical Atlas of Islam.
Universalis is an encyclopedic reference of the French-speaking world. Dedicated to documentary research, general knowledge and education, it is aimed at both individuals and professionals (schools, communities, libraries, companies, etc.). Universalis offers high quality answers in all disciplines and in all major areas of knowledge through multiple media.
Provides access to archived abstracts from 1985-1986. This database is not actively updated.
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on engineered materials such as polymers, plastics, rubber, ceramics and composites. The database addresses manufacturing practices, properties and applications of these materials.
Provides research and communications on engineering. The database focuses on a wide range of topics related to the multidisciplinary study of engineering. Major content engineering areas include: architectural and design, construction, civil, automotive, aerospace, mechanical, transportation, environmental, earthquake, naval and marine, railway, utilities, forensic, mathematics, sustainability.
This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASME and IMechE. The database currently includes over 6.2M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. It covers all mechanical engineering and transportation engineering aspects from aerospace to automotive.
The premier index for the engineering literature, EV provides citations for articles, conference proceedings, selected patents, and other materials dating back to the 1880s. Comprises Compendex and Inspec and includes Knovel-driven Equations and links to related Scopus records.
Contains reprinted decisions of all English courts from 1220 to the commencement of the official Law reports in 1866. HeinOnline allows you to search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, along with its Index of Cases and Index Chart. This collection represents reprints of 275 separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. The English Reports, Full Reprint contains over 100,000 cases reprinted verbatim and spans the years 1220 to 1867.
This database provides a practical means for researchers to keep up with the field. All recent research reports of direct relevance to entomology are assembled here, with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans and terrestrial isopods.
Provides a limited search of environment abstracts within the ProQuest Environmental Science Index.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Includes coverage from 1940s, as well as full text for over 650 journals.
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
Provides citations and abstracts to the literatures of scientific research and government policymaking. Topics are covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. Material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents has been summarized along with information from primary journals in the field. Major areas of coverage include air pollution, marine pollution, freshwater pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management, land pollution, toxicology and health, noise, radiation, environmental action.
Ergonomics Abstracts is a source of information on mainstream ergonomics, as well as on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. [Some documents available on ERIC microfiche; see [Tisch Microforms F13]
Cites over 300,000 essays and indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. Also includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain.
Indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. Includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain, covering 8 decades of 20th Century literature.
Essential evidence plus contains both a literature survey tool (InfoPOEMs) and a question answering tool (InfoTriever) for clinicians. POEMs is a company acronym for Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters.
Includes 130 newspapers in ten languages from 25 states, including many rare 19th Century titles. Emphasis is on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch resource, incorporating both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource containing classic and contemporary documentaries for the visual study of human culture and behavior.
Anthropology, ethnomusicology, music | 1930 CE-present | Field audio recordings and interviews, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, and ephemera.
Anthropology, ethnomusicology, music | 1930 CE-present | Field audio recordings and interviews, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, and ephemera.
The Eurasia Atlantic Database is a bibliographic and fulltext database that provides intensive area coverage (especially for economic development, investment, trade and technological industries) for Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union, and lesser coverage to Western Europe. The database provides unusual historical depth for Soviet and WWII history, including diplomatic/historical documentation such as diplomatic papers and the Nuremberg War Crimes Trials in fulltext.
Europa World Plus is the online version of the most recent Europa World Year Book and the nine Regional Surveys of the World Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australia, The Middle East and North Africa, South American, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. This reference work provides up-to-date background and statistical information on every country in the world.
Europe PMC is a database of abstracts and indices of life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines. Full-text access to some content may be available.
The European Center for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. This HeinOnline library contains several publications of the ECMI, including ECMI Reports, Annual Reports, Working Papers, and more.
Includes correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities in the Dutch East Indies, including Java, Sumatra, and Indonesia.
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border.
Includes correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities from 1910-1930 in Germany's Pacific colonies (German New Guinea, Micronesia and Samoa) and German-leased territories in China.
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities at the end of the First World War. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the mandate authorities and the activities of the native peoples.
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities during the period 1930-1939. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities from 1910-1933. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and the industrialization and economic exploitation of Portugal's African colonies.
One of the most important literary discoveries of the second half of the twentieth century was the recovery of the spectacular library of more than 72,000 volumes, covering a broad range of subject areas, that was collected during the first half of the nineteenth century by Victor Amadeus, the Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg (17791834), and housed at his castle (Castle Corvey) near Paderborn, Germany. In real terms this collection contains over 2 million printed pages of English-language works, many of them comprising multiple volumes. The Corvey Collection thus constitutes one of the most important collections of British Romantic-era writing in existence anywhere. The extent of its scholarly significance is indicated, for instance, by the considerable number of exceedingly rare publicationsand even numerous previously unknown worksby British writers (and women writers in particular, whose works comprise over 1,000 of the titles) who were active during the Romantic period. In addition to this remarkable trove of English-language literary texts, Gale's Corvey Collection of European Literature also includes 3,658 works in French (including more than 500 by women) and 2,653 works in German, all of them dating primarily from the period 1790 to 1840.
This bibliographic database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
American history, social history | 1800-1920 CE | Monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides.
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a freely available, digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Selected collections have been digitized, annotated, and peer-reviewed. It is particularly strong in ethnomusicology. Users must register to gain access to selected collections.
e
A cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. This annually-growing database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.