IMLS Grant Participants

Back to Grant Description page

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee will consist of five members and represent expertise from disability services, university libraries, and not-for-profit repository services involved in disability access, as well as additional areas. The steering committee will guide the project throughout the year. Meeting regularly, this group of five individuals will be key to each phase of the work, including research, stakeholder engagement, and synthesizing the analysis to craft design specifications and a project work plan for constructing the repository.

Jamie Axelrod
Director of Disability Resources, Northern Arizona University
President-Elect of AHEAD

J. Stephen Downie
Professor and Associate Dean for Research
Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Mike Furlough
Executive Director
HathiTrust Digital Library 

John Unsworth, committee co-chair
Dean of Libraries, University Librarian, Professor of English 
University of Virginia

Laura C. Wood, Principle Investigator and committee co-chair
Director of Tisch Library
Tufts University

Advisory committee

The advisory committee will provide guidance to the steering committee through the year, meeting by phone or video quarterly to supply requested feedback and help shape the direction of the project. The advisory committee is intended to provide subject matter expertise to ensure that the developing project meets needs and considers complexities in this landscape.

Prudence S. Adler
Associate Executive Director, Association of Research Libraries

Jack Bernard, Esq.
Associate General Counsel, University of Michigan
Lou Ann Blake 
Deputy Director, National Federation of the Blind

Karen Keninger
Director, National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS), Library of Congress

Mark Riccobono
President, National Federation of the Blind

Robin Seaman
Director of Content Acquisition, Benetech

Additional Personnel

Harriet Chenkin
Administrative Assistant, Tisch Library, Tufts University

David Wedaman
Director of Outreach, Library and Technology Services, Brandeis University


Back to Grant Description page

Remote Research Support Hours

9:00am - 5:00pm