Databases A-Z: S

Safari Books Online

Safari Books Online is a fully-searchable e-reference library housing a collection of technical books that cover the technologies most essential to users including certification, enterprise... More about this resource

SAGE Deep Backfile

Access to content of over 500 titles prior to 1999.

Sage Journals Online

An extensive collection of journals, primarily in the social sciences. It includes titles such as Applied Psychological Measurement, Current Sociology, the European Journal of Womens Studies and... More about this resource

SAGE Knowledge

The SAGE Knowledge platform provides cross-searching of SAGE resources including reference works, ebooks, and CQ Press. Included titles represent many disciplines within the social sciences such... More about this resource

SAGE Research Methods Online

Research Methods Online provides full-text access to books and encyclopedias that cover the design and use of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed research methods in the social and behavioral... More about this resource

SciELO citation index

SciELO Citation Index is a database index of open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.

Science AAAS

Offers access to the complete online suite of Science databases with enhanced editorial, immediate access on the date of publication, searchability, and hypertext links to related citations in... More about this resource

Science Citation Index-Expanded

Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles and book reviews in the sciences. Part of Web of Science.

Science of Synthesis: Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations

Science of Synthesis is the new edition of Houben-Weyl. It was launched in 2000 and will continue to expand into new topics to cover the whole field of synthetic chemistry by 2008. Science of... More about this resource

ScienceDirect

A database of approximately 2000 full text journal titles published by Elsevier covering the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

ScienceDirect Cell Press

A collection of cutting-edge biomedical research publications and reviews focusing on highly valued research that drives scientific discovery and spans a wide range of biomedical disciplines.

Scifinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar for the Web is an electronic version of Chemical Abstracts starting from 1907 to the present. All types of literature are indexed including journal articles, book, patents (from... More about this resource

Scitation Publications

Scitation offers online access to physical sciences publications published by AIP Publishing and its publishing partners.

SCOPUS

An index to the scientific technical and medical literature covering 14,000 scholarly titles including 2,700 titles in Social Science, Psychology, and Economics. Updated daily. Full-text linking... More about this resource

Screen Studies Collection

A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to... More about this resource

Shock & Vibration Digest

Shock & Vibration Digest includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to... More about this resource

Short Story Index

Index to short stories from a variety of magazines. Indexing from 1915-present; select full-text from 1994. Entries feature links to other works by the author and other stories in the source... More about this resource

Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983

Contains more than 140,000 short stories from some 350 periodicals and collections of short stories, and cites short stories published over 150 years. 1915 - 1983

SIAM E-Books

Full text access to almost 400 e-books published by SIAM on applied mathematics and computational science.

SIAM Journals Online

A collection of 15 searchable, full-text titles published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. 1997 forward

Silent Film Online

A collection of over 1000 films representing the foundation of modern cinematic technique and film theory. The collection covers silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the... More about this resource

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Digital primary source collection made up of four parts, Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: Institution of Slavery; Part IV: Age of... More about this resource

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

This HeinOnline collection brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

Social Explorer

Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to modern and historical U.S. census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to help visually analyze... More about this resource

Social Law Library

The Social Law Library includes several databases of decisions issuing from Massachusetts courts (e.g. Supreme, Land, Housing, Business, Fair Labor), as well as department and division decisions (... More about this resource

Social Science Database

ProQuest Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including... More about this resource

Social Science Research Network

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is an open access resource devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research... More about this resource

Social Sciences Citation Index

Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences. Coverage from 1898. Part of Web of Science.

Social Services Abstracts

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The... More about this resource

Sociological Abstracts

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and... More about this resource

Sociology Database

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and... More about this resource

Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all aspects of theory, production and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature... More about this resource

South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922

Provides online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

SPIE Digital Library

Collection of resources available on optics and photonics, providing access to over 150 books and more than 230,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the... More about this resource

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Sport, physical fitness, and physical education. Indexes the practical and research literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology... More about this resource

Springer Link Book Series

Online collection of scientific, technological and medical books.

Springer Link Reference Works

Reference works published by Springer.

Springer Online Journal Archive

A comprehensive body of scientific, medical and technical research documentation accessible to scientists, researchers and other professionals. Includes 1.8 million archive records comprising... More about this resource

Springer Protocols

Electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiles protocols from Humanas book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular... More about this resource

SpringerLINK - NERL

An electronic information service provided by Springer Verlag, providing access to their e-journals (460+) and some book series. It is organized into Forms or Subject Libraries, 10 in all with a... More about this resource

SpringerMaterials

SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering.

Standard Methods Online

Standard Methods includes hundreds of analytical techniques for the determination of water quality.

Statesman's Yearbook (Database)

The Statesman's Yearbook includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, and population.

Statista

Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

StatRef

Searchable database of drug compendia, and medical and dental textbooks.

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online

A collection of newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It includes critiques, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions.

Sustainability Science Abstracts

This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.