Databases A-Z: M

Making of America - Cornell

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education... More about this resource

Making of America - University of Michigan

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education... More about this resource

Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990

Full-text searching of records from the ACLU from before its founding in 1920 through the 20th century. Covers topics such as race, identity, gender rights, worker’s rights, popular protest, the... More about this resource

Mary Ann Liebert Online

More than sixty authoritative peer-reviewed journals published by Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. All are full-text searchable and linked to external bibliographic databases.

Massachusetts History Online

Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to MA history.

Materials Business File

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on the business and industry aspect of materials science, engineering, aerospace and advanced technologies. News, product and process... More about this resource

MathSciNet Mathematical Reviews

Published by the American Mathematical Society (AMS), MathSciNet serves as the online version of Mathematical Reviews (MR), a major index of the mathematical literature. The index covers books,... More about this resource

MathSciNet via EBSCOhost

MathSciNet is the online version of Mathematical Reviews (MR), a major index of the mathematical literature published by the American Mathematical Society (AMS). The index covers books, journals... More about this resource

Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts

This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASME and IMechE. The database currently includes over 6.2M records... More about this resource

Media Education Foundation

The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of... More about this resource

MEDLINE (Ovid)

International biomedical journal literature includes over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre... More about this resource

MEDLINE (ProQuest)

This database is the premier bibliography in biomedicine and the life sciences, compiled by The National Library of Medicine. It contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research,... More about this resource

MEDLINE (WOS)

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics vital to biomedical practitioners, educators, and researchers... More about this resource

Medline Plus

Summaries for over 800 diseases, conditions and wellness topics as well as the latest health news, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, and information on prescription and over-the-counter... More about this resource

Mental Measurements Yearbook (Ovid)

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. A guide to standardized psychological and educational tests. Includes references to reviews, information about the tests, and how to obtain them.

METADEX

This database is the only comprehensive materials science research solution providing indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles. It currently includes... More about this resource

Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts

This database includes records drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and... More about this resource

Middle East and Africa Database

The Middle East and Africa Database (or MIDA) is a bibliographic and full-text database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy,... More about this resource

Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives 1958-1994

Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political... More about this resource

Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970

Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970-offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour... More about this resource

Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974

Iraq 1914-1974 offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through... More about this resource

Mideastwire.com

Daily news from newspapers, TV, and radio, originating in Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Media Diaspora, and translated into English. Includes searchable archives and email newsletter. From... More about this resource

Migration to New Worlds

Migration to New Worlds, Module 1, showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of migration. It includes material on the following topics: European... More about this resource

MIT CogNet

CogNet provides a collection of searchable electronic texts for the cognitive and brain sciences containing works from the MIT Press, as well as information on new research, job listings,... More about this resource

MIT Press

Includes titles in many subject areas, including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and certain areas of science and technology.

MLA International Bibliography

This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language... More about this resource

Modern Language Association

The Modern Language Association promotes the study and teaching of languages and literatures through its programs, publications, annual convention, and advocacy work. The association aims to... More about this resource

Monumenta Germaniae Historica

A comprehensive collection of sources in German history from about CE 500 to 1500.

Music Index Online

The online version of the venerable index to English-language and international periodical articles begun in 1949. The online version includes coverage since 1979. The Music Index provides... More about this resource

Music Industry Data

Measures the impact of music across countries and cultures. It enables evidence based research across all genres from pop to classical, jazz and world music.

Music Magazine Archive

Digitized archive of small press music magazines from the late 20th century.

Music Online: African American Music Reference

African American Music Reference, a resource under development, brings together reference texts, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which... More about this resource

Music Online: American Music

American Song is a history database that includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil... More about this resource

Music Online: Classical Music in Video

Classical Music in Video is a comprehensive streaming video collection to support the study of classical music, providing coverage in breadth and depth relevant to a broad range of area studies,... More about this resource

Music Online: Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label, fully searchable database of classical music recordings, with a particular focus on contemporary music and women composers. Included... More about this resource

Music Online: Contemporary World Music

Includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat.

Music Online: Jazz Music Library

The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

Music Online: Opera in Video

Opera in Video presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. The collection contains 250 of the most important opera... More about this resource

Music Online: Popular Music Library

Popular Music from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country,... More about this resource

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Smithsonian Global Sound® is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and... More about this resource

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. It contains more than 9,000 pages of material,... More about this resource

Music Periodicals Database

This database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text) provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full... More about this resource